Restaurant Discovery #11: Acme Bar & Coffee @ Jalan Binjai

My visit to Acme Bar & Coffee is long overdue. The first time I went, the waiting time for a table for 2 was 45 minutes so my friend and I decided to skip it. Only last week I manage to finally try the dishes at this “the talk of town” restaurant.

IMG_5605.JPG

Acme Bar & Coffee is located at Troika, Jalan Binjai. The whole design of the restaurant is very contemporary but cosy. They have only launched their winter menu and so the restaurant was decorated very christmas-sy which I absolutely adore. It’s never too early to start getting excited for christmas! I had to make a reservation to avoid waiting for a table again and I was glad that they do take reservation.

IMG_5611.JPG

The winter menu looked great. They had a mixture of everything. I was spoilt for choice, I did not know what to order. In the end, for my starter, I had the Mozzarella Berries Burrata (RM35.00). It is a beautiful tiny serving of fresh mozzarella cheese, tomatoes, sake cherry tomatoes, berries, basil, and a drizzle of balsamic reduction. A gorgeous modern twist to a classic Caprese Salad. I truly enjoyed this dish. The balsamic vinegar was reduced to the perfect consistency, it was sweet but still holds its tartness. The sake cherry tomatoes had a similar taste to sundried tomatoes but very juicy and plump. The star of the dish had to be the fresh clean-flavoured mozzarella. It was just beautiful. Definitely worth the money!

IMG_5610.JPG

My friend was raving about the Strawberry, Pamelo & Rocket Salad (RM25.00) which she has previously ordered and so she ordered it again. The salad was a funny one to be in a winter menu as I thought it was the perfect summer salad. It was fresh, tangy, sweet and very citrusy which the kind of taste that does not belong in winter. The combination of flavour of the fruits and rockets were beautifully combined with the balsamic vinaigrette.

IMG_5609.JPG

For my main course, I ordered the Baby Lobster Fettuccine (RM35.00). Most restaurant when they do fusion, they shy away from the variety of flavours and play it safe. This dish impressed me because it shows that the chef is confident in his mixture of flavours that you taste each and every one of the ingredient. You can smell the beautiful saffron in the sauce that coats the perfectly cooked fettuccine. The taste of turmeric doesn’t overpower the other flavours of the dish and you still get the beautiful smell and taste of thyme in the cream sauce. The lobster was sweet and juicy, the beans and asparagus still had a bit of crunch to them. I had no trouble finishing this bowl of delicious pasta. The flavours were combined amazingly.

IMG_5608.JPG

My friend ordered the Aloha Pizzadillas (RM33.00) for her main course and I had a few slices of the pizza. The base was not the usual thin crust pizza base but they used a pitta bread instead which made it so much lighter and I must say to my surprise, I much prefer it on this base. Instead of using the traditional tomato sauce, they used herbs cream sauce which was delicious. The smoke turkey breast was not dry although they were teared into small pieces. The pineapple was sweet and juicy, rockets added freshness to the pizza and the generous amount of cheese on the pizza was what made it even more delicious than what it already was.

IMG_5604.JPG

After we were done with our main courses, we decided to order the Patate Fritte (RM25.00) which was chips in a form of balls. It was crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. The curry leaves didn’t do much to the flavours. It came with a chilli mayo on the side for dipping and it was nice. Perfect for a snack while we continue chatting and gossiping.

IMG_5607.JPG

Although I am not a fan of all things chocolate, I had to give their infamous Sizzling Brownie & Oreo Ice-Cream (RM19.00). As the waiter walked on to our table with the pipping hot sizzling bowl with a piece of brownie in it, I got worried because all I could smell was something burning. It was fun watching  waiter pour the chocolate sauce and it started sizzling and bubbling away. The brownie was not too chocolate-ty which I like and it had bits of nuts in it. The oreo ice-cream was dreamy. It was what made the dish truly special.

Overall, I am very impressed with Acme Bar & Coffee. It lived up to the hype and I can see that I will be visiting this restaurant regularly. The service is fast with friendly staffs, the food is on point and the deco is just beautiful. Although when I was there, they had problem with their air conditioner so it was pretty annoying having a massive fan in front of us.Hopefully they have fixed that problem by now.

Ambience: 8 out of 10
Food: 8 out of 10
Service: 8 out of 10
Price: $$

IMG_5603.JPG
Acme Bar and Coffee (ABC)
Ground Floor at The Troika,
19 Persiaran KLCC,
50450 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

+60 3-2162 2288 

Good luck!

Love,
A

Leave a Reply

